About John Holland

John Holland is a composer and Professor Emeritus in the Studio for Interrelated Media at Massachusetts College of Art and Design in Boston. In the early 1980's, he co-founded Nature and Inquiry, an artists group that meets weekly to discuss ideas in art and science. The group has presented work at the MIT Media Lab, the Harvard Smithsonian Observatory, Habitat Institute, The Copley Gallery in Boston, to name a few. For the past 20 years he has taught a class that introduces artists to leading-edge ideas in science. In 2001 the Boston Globe reported that Nature, Science and Art was the most popular class at the College.

Oceans of the Moon


1. Oceans of the Moon for Digital Piano and Computer-generated sounds (1995)  26:28

I. North

1. Sea of Cold
2. Sea of Rains
3. Sea of Serenity
4. Sea of Crises

II. South

5. Sea of Moisture
6. Sea of Sea of Clouds

III. East

7. Sea of Tranquility
8. Sea of Fertility
9. Sea of Nectar
10. Sea of Waves

IV. West

11. Sea of Vapors
12. Ocean of Storms

2. The Earth’s Shadow Nos. 1 – 2 for Digital Bassoon and Synthesizers (1995)  3:39

3. The Six Quarks for Digital Piano and Computer-generated sounds (1996)  11:36

1. Up
2. Down
3. Strange
4. Charmed
5. Bottom
6. Top

4. Virtual Landscape Nos. 1 – 3 for Digital Flute and Synthesizers (1993)  5:26